Guest Requested Discount

Would love other hosts thoughts on this - what would you do??

Context: Our guest was booked from 12pm to 5pm and asked to extend to 6pm. We extended him at the standard rate rather than 1.5x. His guests then actually left at 6:15pm. Nice guy, easy to host so I was surprised by his text.

Keep it simple and don’t charge him the extra hour, fifteen.

3 Likes

I would Not give any Money Back, You Cannot Control the Rain, Just charge them the Extra Hour.

Dc

Just play nice. Make your customer happy with a discount. And secure a great review.

It’s great that you have the overtime to play with. A leak is not great, and he sounds pretty chill about it. You could waive the overtime, and should get a good review. Or charge for just 30 min at straight time.

I have been battling leaks in my roof for 3 years, and have managed to never have a leak during an event. I would feel it reasonable for guests to complain about a leak. I thought I had mine under control, then saw a leak Thursday an hour before my booking, water dripping right where the presenter would be standing.

I raced home, grabbed a tarp, got up on the roof and covered that area, fingers crossed. No leak. Exhausting.

Ok. Somewhat shady on behalf of the client, but you can’t blame him for asking, I guess.

Couple of options that I use…

1: Extend a discount, but don’t make the first offer
I’ve found in the past that when I’ve extended the offer first, I end up giving away more than what the customer was expecting. To counter this, I say something like, “I’d be happy to compensate you for the inconvenience because I’d certainly like to have you back and get a friendly review. What make you feel comfortable?”

If they want something ridiculous, counter with something more reasonable.

2: Offer a discount on the NEXT booking